Underground Werewolf Scribe Agape


Doleful Lions

“I can’t remember how I first stumbled on the writings of Nema (founder of Horus-Maat Lodge), but once I started reading I was instantly hooked. Liber Pennae Praenumbra was the initial writing Nema channeled in 1974 and became the basis of her work in self-initiation. Aleister Crowley’s book Magick Without Tears was written to make Magick accessible to housewives, but Nema’s work is that theory in action. Her prose is majestic, powerful and life affirming. ‘Underground Werewolf Scribe Agape’ is my tribute to Nema and her beautiful work.” — J.S.

The Doleful Lions is the brainchild of Jonathan Scott who started the one man project in 1996 in Chicago. Scott signed to Urbana IL’s Parasol Records, formed a full band and moved to Chapel Hill to record their debut album called Motel Swim, produced by Mitch Easter (R.E.M., Pavement, Wilco). Scott’s own lyrical progression mirrors his own involvement with Magick and the occult. The early albums were chock full of monsters, sasquatches, UFO’s and other Fortean phenomena, but the lyrical content became much more focused with the 2005 album Shaded Lodge And Mausoleum, with songs about the Knights Templar (Satanic Blood), The Emerald Tablets Of Thoth (O Martyr Atlantis), and life after death (Slip Inside This Gateway). Jonathan’s brother Robert joined him again in 2007 to start working on the follow up to Shaded Lodge And Mausoleum. 2008’s 7 was nearly a concept album based on the writings of H.P. Blavatsky and other Theosophic writers, Scott became a card carrying member of the Theosophical Society in 2005 but has since left the group. The Doleful Lions upcoming album is called Let’s Break Bobby Beausoleil Out Of Prison! and will be out this summer on Wild Kindness Records.

Follow Doleful Lions via
Label Profile
Anthology Profile

Check out more posts at Doleful Lions



The full track list for this Spring 2012 anthology album consists of 10 tracks and 47 minutes of fantastic music:

  1. Modchik – In Sight of my God
  2. Doleful Lions – Underground Werewolf Scribe Agape
  3. Ego and the Ids – Knight in the Abyss
  4. Khan Kurra – Sumeria
  5. Josh Howell – Infinite Mind
  6. Hyle – In and Out of Consensus Reality
  7. LVX1313 & Ikipr – Ω ‏ש‎
  8. Kim Cascone – Metals, Nebulae & Stars
  9. Jersey Petroleum – As The Vessel Burns
  10. Dark Mother Dub – Loa Crisis


The Hermetic Library at Hermetic.com has an overall vision of Archiving, Engaging and Encouraging the living Western Esoteric Tradition. I started the benefit anthology project to help promote newer works in the Western Esoteric Tradition to the audience of the Hermetic Library and beyond. The anthology project also further raises awareness about the corpus and culture of magick and ritual.

This Spring 2012 issue from the Hermetic Library Anthology Project is being released in mid-June. There’s 10 tracks on this anthology album from a number of new and returning artists. This is a playlist that makes me want to dance, makes me want to laugh, makes me want more. It’s got an itch that wants to be scratched, and that’s what Spring is all about. This release starts out with a strong rock beat with a glitchy guitar riff then moves to a moody melody with attitude. From there, an impromptu rap collaboration that leads to a strong electronica beat. A distorted electronica beat accelerates into an extended set of different raw glitched audio energy from several artists. The penultimate track is a fantastically awkward, lyrical and poetic piece that pretty much is exactly everything about how Spring feels to me, and then ultimately full circle to a final catchy and glitchy guitar riff that I think strongly and authoritatively announces an abrupt crossing of the sun into the coming Summer.

There’s a lot of itchy glitchy sounds to this playlist that seem to me just perfect for the feeling of the warm spring sun. You also know this feeling of everything stretching Winter-sore muscles and just aching to start running or climbing through the sudden sunshine. The cover image for this anthology builds on the sequential narrative, the progression from the previous anthology visuals and is meant to evoke the same Spring-like tension developing, an explosive potential just barely managing to hold itself in.

I encourage you to check out the Hermetic Library at Hermetic.com, if you aren’t already familiar with it, as that’s the reason this project exists and may also offer inspiration to you. The site was started in 1996 and has ever since consistently been an extremely popular resource for students and researchers interested in the Western Esoteric Tradition. You may also wish to check out other posts at the Hermetic Library blog and the Twitter and Facebook reflections to see how the library engages people in a living Western Esoteric Tradition.

Please join the Hermetic Library in promoting these artists who have contributed their work to this benefit anthology album project. All proceeds from album sales will support the library to help cover hosting costs and other expenses like materials acquisitions.

Hermetic Library
Hermetic Library Anthology Project
Hermetic Library blog
Hermetic Library audio pool